Conservation and Heritage Management Award

2015 CHM winner Elizabeth Pye (left)

The Conservation and Site Preservation Committee invites nominations for the Conservation and Heritage Management Award. This award is made in recognition of an individual's or institution's exceptional achievement in any of the following areas:

1) Archaeological conservation (the conservation of an artifact, monument, or site);
2) Archaeological conservation science (an advance in the deterioration analysis or treatment of archaeological materials);
3) Archaeological heritage management (the overall management of a site or group of sites including their preservation and interpretation to the public);
4) Education/public awareness of archaeological conservation through teaching, lecturing, and exhibition, or a publication.

The Award is open to any international individuals, institutions, or organizations, public or private, who merit recognition for their contributions to the preservation of our archaeological heritage. Eligibility is not restricted to members of the AIA or to U.S. citizens.

Please send name(s), a CV, and a substantive statement about the nominee's qualifications for the award to:

Due Date for Nomination
Completed nominations for the 2016 prize should be received by Institute Headquarters at the address below no later than May 1, 2015, for the award to be presented at the following Annual Meeting.

Conservation and Heritage Management Committee
Atten: Awards Department
Archaeological Institute of America
656 Beacon Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02215-2006

2015 Conservation and Heritage Management Award: Elizabeth Pye

The AIA presented its 2015 Conservation and Heritage Management Award to Elizabeth Pye, Emeritus Professor at the University College London’s Institute of Archaeology on January 9th at the AIA’s 116th Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana.  Pye’s legacy to the field of conservation includes her groundbreaking efforts to transform the field of objects conservation into a science-based discipline and over four decades of teaching, mentoring, and inspiring hundreds of students from around the world.

Past Winners of the Conservation and Heritage Management Award

2015 Elizabeth Pye
2014 Staffordshire Hoard Conservation Project
2013 Sudharshan Seneviratne
2012 James R. McCredie
2011 Archaeological Conservancy
2010 Henry Cleere

Heritage Watch


Catherine Sease


Pointe-à-Callière Musée d'Archéologie et d'Histoire de Montréal, accepted by Francine Lelièvre, Executive Director


Hester A. Davis, Arkansas Archaeological Survey, William Lipe, Washington State University, and Charles R. McGimsey, III, Arkansas Archaeological Survey

2005 Parks Canada Agency, les Services d'Archéologie Subaquatique à Agence Parcs Canada, under the direction of its Chief Archaeologist, Robert Grenier
2004 Nicholas P. Stanley-Price
2002 Wet Organic Archaeological Materials Working Group
2001 Museum of London
1999 Lawrence J. Majewski
1998 Department of Conservation and Materials Science at the Institute of Archaeology, University of London

Return to previous page