Bhutan: The Last Buddhist Kingdom (land tour)

Dates: Thursday, September 17, 2015 to Wednesday, September 30, 2015 (14 days)
Tour Leader: Annapurna Garimella

A Bhutanese dzong, Bhutan. Image by R. Todd Nielsen

Explore Bhutan’s remote, lesser visited, eastern region, where our visit is timed to coincide with the Thangbi Mani, a traditional, colorful Buddhist festival celebrating the cultural heritage of the ancient Thangbi monastery. Several active Buddhist monasteries and dzongs (fortress-monasteries) reveal to us Buddhist practice and fabulous artwork (sculptures and tapestries), such as the 17th-century Paro Dzong, which now houses the National Museum; and the 17th-century Punakha Dzong, the winter home of the head abbot of Bhutan and a retinue of 500 monks. Other highlights include the insights and company of our engaging art historian, Dr. Annapurna Garimella; visits to remote villages to learn about ancient traditions and modern culture; and an excursion to the famous Paro Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest) hermitage, built into a sheer cliff face 2,700 feet above Paro Valley. Also spend a day in and around the capital city of Thimphu, including a visit to the National Institute for Zorig Chusum (Thirteen Arts and Crafts of Bhutan) to see students at work on paintings, carvings, and sculptures; and take in breathtaking views of the world’s highest mountain range.


Tour Pricing:
$8,075 (15 to 25 participants) per person double occupancy

$8,575 (10 to 14 participants) per person double occupancy
Single Supplement: $1,295

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

Thursday, September 17, 2015 - Depart Home
Friday, September 18 - Arrive Delhi, India
Saturday, September 19 - Delhi
Sunday & Monday, September 20 & 21 - Delhi | Paro, Bhutan
Tuesday & Wednesday, September 22 & 23 - Paro | Bumthang
Thursday, September 24 - Bumthang | Trongsa
Friday, September 25 - Trongsa | Punakha
Saturday, September 26 - Punakha
Sunday, September 27 - Punakha | Thimphu
Monday, September 28 - Thimphu
Tuesday, September 29 - Thimphu | Paro
Wednesday, September 30 – Paro | Delhi, India

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).