The Silk Road: Empires of Central Asia (land tour)

Dates: Monday, May 21, 2018 to Wednesday, June 6, 2018 (17 days)
Tour Leader: Matthew Canepa

Registan Square, Samarkand, Uzbekistan. Image © Ekrem Canli

Retrace the fabled Silk Road through Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan with ancient historian Matthew Canepa, following in the footsteps of silk traders who left China as early as 200 B.C. in great camel caravans for the 5,000-mile trek to the Mediterranean. This was also the road of Alexander the Great and Marco Polo, extending across vast deserts, mountains, and plains. Visit eight UNESCO World Heritage sites: Turkmenistan’s Merv, Nisa, and Kunya Urgench; and Uzbekistan’s old Khiva (Itchan Kala), Desert Castles of Ancient Khorezm (Ellik Kala), Bukhara, Shahrisabz, and Samarkand. Explore the archaeological sites of Anau, inhabited from the Neolithic through medieval periods; the ancient Zoroastrian center of Gonur-Depe; and Paikent, whose fortress walls date back to the 9th century B.C. Discover fascinating museum collections, dine in the home of a local family in Bukhara, stroll through old town shops and bazaars, enjoy performances of traditional music and dance, and admire stunning religious monuments and artifacts, such as the partially-preserved Uthman Koran (written on deerskin in the 7th century), considered by Sunni Muslims to be the world’s oldest Koran. Maximum of just 16 participants.


Pricing:
$7,945 (12-16 participants) per person double occupancy.
$8,245 (10-11 participants) per person double occupancy.
$865 single supplement (limited availability).


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Forms

Itinerary

Monday, May 21, 2018 - Depart Home
Tuesday, May 22 - Ashgabad, TURKMENISTAN
Wednesday, May 23 - Ashgabad
Thursday, May 24 - Ashgabad | Nisa | Anau | Ashgabad | Mary
Friday, May 25 - Mary | Gonur-Depe | Mary
Saturday, May 26 - Mary | Merv | Mary | Ashgabad
Sunday, May 27 - Ashgabad | Tashauz | Kunya Urgench | Khiva, UZBEKISTAN
Monday, May 28 - Khiva
Tuesday, May 29 - Khiva | Ellik Kala | Khiva
Wednesday, May 30 - Khiva | Bukhara
Thursday, May 31 - Bukhara
Friday, June 1 - Bukhara | Paikent | Bukhara
Saturday, June 2 - Bukhara | Shahrisabz | Samarkand
Sunday, June 3 - Samarkand​​​​​​​
Monday, June 4 - Samarkand | Tashkent
Tuesday, June 5 - Tashkent​​​​​​​
Wednesday, June 6 - Tashkent | HOME

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/silkroad_5-18_reservationform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!