The Silk Road: Empires of Central Asia

Dates: Friday, May 17, 2019 to Sunday, June 2, 2019 (17 days)
Tour Leader: Aleksandr Naymark

Retrace the fabled Silk Road through Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan with archaeologist Aleksandr Naymark, following in the footsteps of silk traders who left China as early as 200 B.C. in great camel caravans for the 5,000-mile trek to the Mediterranean. This was also the road of Alexander the Great and Marco Polo, extending across vast deserts, mountains, and plains. Visit eight UNESCO World Heritage sites: Turkmenistan’s Merv, Nisa, and Kunya Urgench; and Uzbekistan’s old Khiva (Itchan Kala), Desert Castles of Ancient Khorezm (Ellik Kala), Bukhara, Shahrisabz, and Samarkand. Explore the archaeological sites of Anau, inhabited from the Neolithic through medieval periods; the ancient Zoroastrian center of Gonur-Depe; and Paikent, whose fortress walls date back to the 9th century B.C. Discover fascinating museum collections, stroll through old town shops and bazaars, enjoy performances of traditional music and dance, and admire stunning religious monuments and artifacts, such as the partially-preserved Uthman Koran (written on deerskin in the 7th century), considered by Sunni Muslims to be the world’s oldest Koran. Maximum of just 16 travelers.


Pricing:
$7,945 (13-16 participants) per person double occupancy.
$8,195 (10-12 participants) per person double occupancy.
$925 single supplement (limited availability).

Single room supplement will be charged when requested or required.  With fewer than 10 participants, a small group surcharge may be added.


 

Brochure

Forms

Itinerary

Friday, May 17, 2019 - Depart Home
Saturday, May 18 - Ashgabat, TURKMENISTAN
Sunday, May 19 - Ashgabat: AM at leisure | PM city tour | Welcome dinner
Monday, May 20 - Ashgabat | Nisa | Anau | Fly to Mary
Tuesday, May 21 - Gonur-Depe | Mary
Wednesday, May 22 -  Merv | Mary | Fly to Ashgabat
Thursday, May 23 - Fly to Tashauz | Kunya Urgench | Khiva, UZBEKISTAN
Friday, May 24 - Khiva walking tour
Saturday, May 25 - Ellik Kala | Khiva
Sunday, May 26 - Drive to Bukhara
Monday, May 27 - Bukhara walking tour
Tuesday, May 28 - Paikent | Bukhara
Wednesday, May 29 - Shahrisabz | Samarkand
Thursday, May 30 - Samarkand walking tour​​​​​​​
Friday, May 31 - Institute of Archaeology | Drive to Tashkent
Saturday, June 1 - Tashkent city tour | PM at leisure | Farewell dinner​​​
Sunday, June 2 - Tashkent | HOME

View detailed itinerary


To more reservation or if you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Download the complete brochure with reservation form.

 

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/aia_silkroad5-19-resform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!