The Silk Road: Empires of Central Asia

Dates:

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 to Friday, June 9, 2017
(17 days)
Tour Leader: Claudia Chang

Registan Square, Samarkand, Uzbekistan. Image © Ekrem Canli

Retrace the fabled Silk Road through Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan with archaeologist Claudia Chang, following in the footsteps of silk traders who left China as early as 200 B.C. in great camel caravans for the 5,000-mile trek to the Mediterranean. This was also the road of Alexander the Great and Marco Polo, extending across vast deserts, mountains, and plains. Visit seven UNESCO World Heritage sites: Turkmenistan’s Merv, Nisa, Kunya Urgench, and old Khiva (Itchan Kala); and Uzbekistan’s Bukhara, Shahrisabz, and Samarkand; plus the archaeological sites of Anau, Gonur-Depe, and Paikent. Get acquainted with traditional arts and crafts, with visits to the private studio of a sixth-generation Uzbek ceramicist and a workshop that hand-crafts paper using 8th-century techniques. Dine in the home of a local family in Bukhara, and stroll through old town shops and bazaars, such as Altyn Asyr Oriental Market, one of the largest in Central Asia. Also available is an optional, 9-day, post-tour extension to Iran. This tour is limited to 16 travelers!


Main Tour Pricing:
$7,595 (10-16 participants) per person double occupancy.

$995 single supplement. (limited availability)

Optional Post-tour Extension to Iran Pricing:
$4,995 (8+ participants) per person double occupancy.

$1,095 single supplement. (limited availability)


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 - Depart Home
Thursday, May 25 - Ashkhabad, TURKMENISTAN
Friday, May 26 - Ashkhabad | Kipchak | Ashkhabad
Saturday, May 27 - Ashkhabad | Anau | Ashkhabad | Mary
Sunday, May 28 - Mary | Merv | Gonur-Depe | Mary
Monday, May 29 - Mary | Ashkhabad | Nisa | Ashkhabad
Tuesday, May 30 - Ashkhabad | Tashauz | Kunya Urgench | Khiva, UZBEKISTAN
Wednesday, May 31 - Khiva
Thursday, June 1 - Khiva | Bukhara
Friday, June 2 - Bukhara
Saturday, June 3 - Bukhara | Paikent | Bukhara
Sunday, June 4 - Bukhara | Shahrisabz | Samarkand
Monday, June 5 - Samarkand
Tuesday, June 6 - Samarkand | Koni Gil | Samarkand
Wednesday, June 7 - Samarkand | Tashkent
Thursday, June 8 - Tashkent
Friday, June 9 - Tashkent | HOME OR Tehran, IRAN

OPTIONAL POST-TOUR EXTENSION TO IRAN (9 Days)

Friday, June 9, 2017 - Depart Tashkent | Tehran, Iran
Saturday, June 10 - Tehran
Sunday, June 11 - Tehran | Shiraz
Monday, June 12 - Shiraz | Firuzabad | Shiraz
Tuesday, June 13 - Shiraz | Naghsh-e Rostam | Persepolis | Pasargadae | Isfahan
Wednesday, June 14 - Isfahan
Thursday, June 15 - Isfahan
Friday, June 16 - Isfahan | Kashan | Tehran
Saturday, June 17 - Tehran | Home

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!