Georgia & Armenia: Beyond the Golden Fleece (land tour)

Dates: Wednesday, October 3, 2018 to Friday, October 19, 2018 (17 days)
Tour Leader: Gocha Tsetskhladze

Tatev Monastery, Armenia. Image © Alexander Naumov.

Immerse yourself in the history, cultures, and landscapes of the beautiful Caucasus region, with visits to ancient settlements and fortresses; early churches, cathedrals, and monasteries; and intriguing cave towns. Explore a variety of fascinating prehistoric through early Christian sites, including Dmanisi, a medieval town under which were found four 1.7-million-year-old Homo erectus skulls; Carahunge’s nearly 4,000-year-old standing stones; the cave complex of Areni-1, where a 6,000-year-old winery was discovered; the unusual cave towns at Vardzia, Uplistsikhe, and Khndzoresk; the Roman fortress at Gonio-Apsaros; and the Byzantine Petra fortress at Tsikhisdziri, with a stunning view of the Black Sea coast. Visit five UNESCO World Heritage sites: Georgia’s impressive, 12th-century Gelati architectural complex and Mtskheta, center of the country’s conversion to Christianity in A.D. 337; and Armenia’s spiritual center, Echmiadzin, including the 7th-century Zvartnots Cathedral; 10th-century Haghbat Monastery complex; and Geghard Monastery, carved into a mountainside. An optional extension to Azerbaijan is available. Travel with a maximum of just 16 participants!

Pricing:
$7,745 (12-16 participants) per person double occupancy.
$8,290 (8-11 participants) per person double occupancy.
$1,325 single supplement (limited availability).

Pre-tour Extension Pricing:
$1,545 (10-16 participants) per person double occupancy.
$1,645 (6-9 participants) per person double occupancy.
$295 single supplement (limited availability).

 

Brochure

Itinerary

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - Depart Home
Thursday, October 4 - Arrive Tbilisi, GEORGIA
Friday, October 5 - Tbilisi
Saturday, October 6 - Tbilisi | Dmanisi | Bolnisi | Tbilisi
Sunday, October 7 - Tbilisi | Mtskheta | Dzalisi | Kutaisi
Monday, October 8 - Kutaisi | Tsikhisdziri | Batumi
Tuesday, October 9 - Batumi
Wednesday, October 10 - Batumi | Borjomi | Bakuriani
Thursday, October 11 - Bakuriani | Vardzia | Akhaltsikhe
Friday, October 12 - Akhaltsikhe | Uplistsikhe | Gori | Tbilisi
Saturday, October 13 - Tbilisi | Haghbat, ARMENIA | Yerevan
Sunday, October 14 - Yerevan
Monday, October 15 - Yerevan | Erebuni | Echmiadzin | Metsamor | Yerevan
Tuesday, October 16 - Yerevan | Areni-1 | Teishebaini | Noravank Monastery | Goris
Wednesday, October 17 - Goris | Tatev Monastery | Carahunge | Khndzoresk | Goris
Thursday, October 18 - Goris | Yerevan
Friday, October 19 - Fly Home

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).