Temples & Palaces of Northern India (land tour)

Dates: Wednesday, November 6, 2019 to Saturday, November 23, 2019 (18 days)
Tour Leader: Kirtana Thangavelu

Temples & Palaces of Northern India, November 6-23, 2019 (18 days | 12 guests)

Join art historian Kirtana Thangavelu on this in-depth tour that maximizes your sightseeing time with a carefully-planned itinerary, expert local guides, and three flights within India. Enjoy the luxury and convenience of traveling for five nights aboard the new, luxurious Palace on Wheels train; spend two nights each at five 5-star hotels; and spend one memorable night at a deluxe tented camp. Experience the famous and colorful Pushkar Fair, one of India's largest camel, horses, and cattle fairs; plus two camel safaris in the desert. Discover masterpieces of Indian architecture and art, visiting eleven UNESCO World Heritage sites, including many of the world’s most magnificent royal tombs, extraordinary rock-cut cave temples and art, and spectacular fortress palaces. Explore India’s diverse and splendid cultural heritage through visits to important Jain, Buddhist, Hindu, and Islamic monuments in and around Agra, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Udaipur, and the metropolises of Delhi and Mumbai. Marvel at rock-cut temples in Elephanta, Ajanta, and Ellora; the deserted city of Fatehpur Sikri; the astronomical observatory of Jantar Mantar; Mughal monuments such as Humayun's Tomb, the Qutub Minar, and the Taj Mahal; and much more. Limited to just twelve guests!


 

Tour Prices per person (16 nights)

Double Occupancy (10-12 participants) $12,945
Double Occupancy (7-9 participants) $13,745
Single Supplement $5,895
Single room supplement will be charged when requested or required (limited availability).

Brochure

Forms

Itinerary

Wednesday, November 6, 2019: Depart U.S. on flights to Mumbai, India
Thursday, November 7: Arrive Mumbai | Private transfer to hotel
Friday, November 8: Mumbai | Elephanta Caves | Prince of Wales Museum | Welcome dinner
Saturday, November 9: Fly to Aurangabad | Ajanta Caves | Aurangabad
Sunday, November 10: Ellora Caves
Monday, November 11: Fly to Jaipur via Mumbai | Drive to Pushkar | Pushkar Fair
Tuesday, November 12: Pushkar Fair | Camel safari | Drive to Jaipur
Wednesday, November 13: Jaipur: Palace of Winds, Amber Fort, Old Bazaar
Thursday, November 14: Jaipur: City Palace, Jantar Mantar | Board Palace on Wheels
Friday, November 15: Ranthambore National Park | Chittorgarh
Saturday, November 16: Udaipur: City Palace, Boat ride on Lake Pichola
Sunday, November 17: Jaisalmer: Jaisalmer Fort, Patwa-ki-Haveli | Camel safari
Monday, November 18: Jodhpur: Mehrangarh Fort
Tuesday, November 19: Bharatpur: Disembark Palace on Wheels | Keoladeo National Park | Fatehpur Sikri | Agra
Wednesday, November 20: Taj Mahal sunrise visit | Agra Fort | Taj Mahal sunset visit
Thursday, November 21: Mathura | Delhi | Farewell dinner
Friday, November 22: Delhi: Jama Masjid, Humayun's Tomb, Qutb Complex
Saturday, November 23: Depart Delhi | Fly home


View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/nindia10-19-resform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!