Hiking Scotland’s Western Isles (land tour)


Sunday, June 18, 2017 to Wednesday, June 28, 2017
(11 days)
Tour Leader: Mary MacLeod Rivett

Western Scotland. Image by © AAWH

Travel from the Isle of Mull in the south, along the western edge of highland Scotland to the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides (Western Isles), sometimes along the mainland coast, but more often across incomparably beautiful – and fascinating – islands. Explore all that the western Highlands and Islands of Scotland have to offer: prehistoric stone circles, burial cairns, and settlements; quaint villages and imposing castles; Gaelic culture and remarkable wildlife—all amidst dramatic land- and seascapes. Highlights include Fingal’s Cave, Iona Abbey, the Talisker Distillery, the 5,000-year-old Standing Stones of Callanish, and Dun Carloway. This unique tour is more active than our usual land tours and features almost-daily hikes (of 2.5 to 6 miles) that are easy to moderate in difficulty. Limited to 15 participants.

$6,245 (13-15 participants) per person double occupancy
$6,445 (10-12 participants) per person double occupancy
$825 single supplement


Download the Brochure or View Online


Sunday, June 18, 2017 - Depart Home
Monday, June 19 - Glasgow, SCOTLAND | Isle of Mull
Tuesday, June 20 - Isle of Mull | Dun Ara and standing stones | Duart Castle
Wednesday, June 21 - Isle of Mull | Isles of Staffa and Iona | Isle of Mull 
Thursday, June 22 - Isle of Mull | Isle of Skye
Friday, June 23 - Isle of Skye: High Pasture Cave and Cuillin mountains
Saturday, June 24 - Isle of Skye: Talisker Distillery, Dun Beag, Oronsay | Isle of Harris
Sunday, June 25 - Isle of Harris
Monday, June 26 - Isle of Harris | Isle of Lewis: Callanish, Dun Carloway, Gearrannan
Tuesday, June 27 - Isle of Lewis
Wednesday, June 28 - Isle of Lewis | Glasgow | Fly Home


View Detailed Itinerary

If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!