Undiscovered Greece: Macedonia to Epirus (land tour)

Dates:

Saturday, May 20, 2017 to Friday, June 2, 2017
(14 days)
Tour Leader: Nancy Wilkie

Dodoni, Greece. © Jean Housen CC BY-SA 3.0

A waiting list is available for this May 2017 tour. Or, join this same tour in September 2017!

Journey through some of Greece’s spectacular, lesser-visited regions with archaeologist Nancy Wilkie. Gaze on Byzantine monasteries atop the towering pinnacles of Meteora; the cloud-shrouded peak of Mt. Olympus, home of the ancient Greek gods; and remote, medieval villages in the Pindus Mountains. See Macedonian royal tombs with fabulous gold jewelry and frescoes; magnificent Byzantine churches and icons; and the archaeological sites of Dion, Dodoni, and Philippi. Enjoy comfortable, mostly luxurious, accommodations, including three nights at a mountain resort and spa. Limited to just 12 participants.


Pricing:
$8,445 (10-12 participants) per person double occupancy.
$9,445 (7-9 participants) per person double occupancy.
$1,295 single supplement (limited availability).


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - Depart Home
Sunday, May 21 - Arrive Athens, Greece
Monday, May 22 - Athens | Acropolis | Acropolis Museum
Tuesday, May 23 - Athens | Alexandroupolis | Kavala
Wednesday, May 24 - Kavala | Philippi | Amphipolis | Thessaloniki
Thursday, May 25 - Thessaloniki | Pella | Thessaloniki
Friday, May 26 - Thessaloniki | Vergina | Dion | Kalambaka
Saturday, May 27 - Kalambaka | Meteora | Kalambaka
Sunday, May 28 - Kalambaka | Metsovo | Zagoria
Monday, May 29 - Zagoria
Tuesday, May 30 - Zagoria
Wednesday, May 31 - Zagoria | Dodoni | Ioannina
Thursday, June 1 - Ioannina | Athens | Sounion
Friday, June 2 - Sounion | Athens | Home

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!