The Aegean Islands, Athens, Delphi, Meteora & Ephesus (land & cruise)

Dates: Saturday, September 1, 2018 to Sunday, September 16, 2018 (16 days)
Tour Leader: Nancy Wilkie

Santorini. Image © Danbu14

Explore the cultural treasures of Greece, including six UNESCO World Heritage sites (*), and cruise the glittering Aegean Sea aboard the private, 26-cabin M/V Athena. Start off with several days on the mainland to take in stunning sites set in dramatic landscapes, including the ancient oracle of Delphi* and monasteries set atop towering peaks at Meteora.* Embark the M/V Athena in Athens for a seven-night cruise, visiting the iconic islands of Syros, Mykonos, Patmos,* Naxos, and Santorini; the sacred ancient ruins on Delos;* and the vast Greco-Roman city of Ephesus* in Turkey. Along the way, engage in a series of onboard lectures and informal discussions with AIA lecturer and host Nancy Wilkie and Carleton College faculty leader Chico Zimmerman. Also enjoy special activities such as a Greek cooking class and a lunch and dinner at the homes of local Greek families, plus a visit to an icon-painting workshop. Return to Athens, where you disembark and have two days to visit the iconic Acropolis* and explore independently.

Plus Optional Pre-Cruise Extension: Athens & the Peloponnese
August 27-September 2, 2018

Aboard the 26-cabin M/V Athena


14-Night Main Program Pricing (Per Person)

Deck  Category   Land/Voyage   Air/Land/Voyage 
Upper   A $7,295 $8,395
Upper B $7,095 $8,195
Main C $6,795 $7,895
Main D $6,495 $7,595
Lower    Singles $6,495 $7,595

 

 

 

 

 

 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Forms

Itinerary

OPTIONAL PRE-CRUISE EXTENSION
August 27 - September 2, 2018 - Athens & the Peloponnese

MAIN VOYAGE
Saturday, September 1, 2018: Depart Home
Sunday, September 2: Arrive Athens, Greece
Monday, September 3: Athens | Arachova
Tuesday, September 4: Arachova | Delphi | Arachova
Wednesday, September 5: Arachova | Kalambaka
Thursday, September 6: Kalambaka | Meteora | Kalambaka
Friday, September 7: Kalambaka | Athens | Embarkation
Saturday, September 8: Syros | Mykonos
Sunday, September 9: Delos | Kuşadasi, Turkey
Monday, September 10: Kuşadasi | Ephesus | Kuşadasi
Tuesday, September 11: Patmos, Greece
Wednesday, September 12: Santorini
Thursday, September 13: Naxos
Friday, September 14: Athens | Disembarkation
Saturday, September 15: Athens
Sunday, September 16: Athens | Fly Home

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/aegean_islands9-18_reservationform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!