Annual Meeting News

December 11, 2014

2015 AIA Award Winners

2014 AIA Award winners

The Archaeological Institute of America is pleased to announce our 2015 Award Winners.

Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement
C. Brian Rose, University of Pennsylvania

For his work in the field at Troy, the Granicus River Valley Survey Project, and Gordion; his visionary and energetic efforts to provide cultural heritage training to the members of the US military serving in Iraq and Afghanistan; and his highly influential role as an educator, formerly at University of Cincinnati and now at University of Pennsylvania.

Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions
T. Douglas Price, University of Wisconsin

For his influence on the field of archaeological science, including his research that has revolutionized our understanding of the European Mesolithic, the transition to agriculture, and human migration throughout the world.

Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award
Connie Rodriguez, Loyola University

For her 25 years of dedication to AIA National and the AIA New Orleans Society, including her invaluable assistance each time the AIA Annual Meeting has been in New Orleans (1992, 2013, and 2015).

James R. Wiseman Book Award
Elspeth Dusinberre, Empire, Authority, and Autonomy in Achaemenid Anatolia (Cambridge University Press, 2013)

For her book’s insightful interpretation of the material evidence in a series of thematic chapters, such as drinking and eating, dealing with the dead, and worship, and the book’s focus on a new theoretical lens of authority and autonomy to address core issues on Persian control in Anatolia.

Felicia A. Holton Book Award
Allan Meyers, Outside the Hacienda Walls: the Archaeology of Plantation Peonage in Nineteenth-Century Yucatán (The University of Arizona Press, 2012)

For his book’s exemplary example of how archaeology can be used to support modern historical and ethnological research.

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award
Nancy T. de Grummond, Florida State University

For over thirty years of dedicated teaching, bringing the immediacy of new ideas and discoveries directly into the classroom and instilling in her students a passion for original research.

Conservation and Heritage Management Award
Elizabeth Pye, University College London

For her groundbreaking efforts to transform the field of objects conservation into a science-based discipline and over four decades of teaching, mentoring, and inspiring hundreds of students from around the world.

Best Practices in Site Preservation Award
Temple of the Winged Lions Cultural Resource Management, Christopher Tuttle

For the initiatives developed to stabilize, conserve, and protect the monumental temple and its precinct; rehabilitate the surrounding landscape; develop and implement a comprehensive presentation strategy for the temple and its environs; publish the data derived from both the original excavation and the new project; develop guidelines and manuals for different aspects of cultural resource management work; and build local capacity for undertaking CRM efforts.

Outstanding Public Service
Gregory Annenberg Weingarten, Annenberg Foundation

For his extraordinary work in protecting world heritage and artifacts sacred to the San Carlos Apache and Hopi tribes.

Outstanding Work in Digital Archaeology Award
The Ancient World Online, Charles E. Jones, Pennsylvania State University

For its work on open access material relation to the ancient world, serving archaeological information to more than 1.1 million unique visitors to the site since its inception in 2009.

Graduate Student Paper Award (presented at the 2014 Annual Meeting)
Christopher Hale, University of Melbourne, “Central Greek and Kean Interconnections During the Middle Bronze Age: The Evidence from Mitrou, East Locris”  

For his paper, which delivered significant insights regarding trade in the Middle Bronze Age Aegean, and his poise during the question and answer session following the paper.

Please join us in honoring these award winners at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, January 9, 2015 at 5:30 pm during the Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.