AIA News

January 11, 2019

2019 Council Election Results

Governing Board

The following individuals were elected to the Governing Board:

Vice President for Cultural Heritage

Elizabeth S. Greene (Term 2)

Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs

Thomas Tartaron (Term 1)

Vice President for Societies

Connie Rodriguez (Term 1)


David Seigle (Term 1)

General Trustees

Jeanne McKenzie Bailey (Term 1)

David Boochever (Term 2)

Larry Cripe (Term 1)

Barbara Meyer (Term 2)

Laura Rich (Term 1)

Academic Trustees

Thomas Levy (Term 2)

Kim Shelton (Term 1)

Society Trustees

Arthur Cassanos (Term 2)

Gary Linn (Term 1) *

Thomas Sienkewicz (Term 1)

*He is completing the remainder of Connie Rodriguez’s term after she was elected as Vice President of Societies (AIA Regulations, Article VI, Section 2).

The AIA expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the following Former Trustees for their dedicated years of service to the Institute.

Bonna Wescoat (Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs, 2017-2019)

Ann Santen (Vice President for Societies, 2015-2019)

David Ackert (Treasurer, 2013-2019)

Bruce Campbell (General Trustee, 2013-2019)

Deborah Lehr (General Trustee, 2013-2019)

Robert Rothberg (General Trustee, 2013-2019)

Derek Counts (Academic Trustee, 2013-2019)

Margaret Morden (Society Trustee, 2016-2019)

Nominating Committee

The following individuals were elected to the Nominating Committee:


Carla Antonaccio (Term 1)


James Jansson (Term 2)

Barbara Meyer (Term 1)

Thomas Morton (Term 1)

Charles Steinmetz (Term 2)

The AIA wishes to extend its sincerest thank to the 2018-2019 Nominating Committee, chaired by Kathleen Lynch, for its hard work in assembling an excellent slate of nominees. The Nominating Committee consisted of Derek Counts, James Jansson, Charles Steinmetz, and P. Gregory Warden.

Corresponding Members

The following individuals were elected as Corresponding Members of the Institute:

Maria Andreadaki-Vlazaki, Secretary General, Hellenic Ministry of Culture and Sports

Neil Brodie, Senior Research Associate, EAMENA, University of Oxford

Philipp von Rummel, General Secretary, German Archaeological Institute

Paolo Liverani, Professor for Topography of Ancient Italy at the University of Florence

Jane Webster, Senior Lecturer, Newcastle University

Metaxia Tsipopoulou, Emerita Director, Directorate of the National Archive of Monuments of the Hellenic Ministry of Culture

Lidewijde de Jong, Associate Professor, University of Groningen

To learn more about the newly elected Corresponding Members, click here.

For a complete list of Corresponding Members of the Institute, click here.

The AIA wishes to extend its sincerest thanks to the 2018-2019 Corresponding Members Committee, chaired by Thomas Carpenter, for their hard work in assembling this year’s slate of nominees. The Corresponding Members Committee consisted of Bettina Arnold, Charles Jones, Lauren Petersen, and Paul Scotton. The Committee was overseen by First Vice President, Laetitia La Follette, and assisted by AIA Staff Liaison, Kevin Mullen.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.