AIA News

January 10, 2021

2021 Council Election Results

Governing Board

The following individuals were elected to the Governing Board:

Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs

Thomas Tartaron, Term 2 (2021-2023)


David Adam, Term 1 (2021-2024)

General Trustees

Thomas Carpenter, Term 2 (2021-2024)

Joshua Gates, Term 2 (2021-2024)

Maria Vecchiotti, Term 2 (2021-2024)

Mark Hurst, Term 1 (2020-2022) *confirmation of prior appointment 

Mathea Falco, Term 1 (2021-2024)

Jane Botsford Johnson, Term 1 (2021-2024)

Paula Paster Michtom, Term 1 (2021-2024)

Academic Trustees

Elizabeth M. Greene, Term 2 (2021-2024)

Anthony Tuck, Term 1 (2020-2022) *confirmation of prior appointment 

Alexandra Jones, Term 1 (2021-2024)

Ömür Harmanşah, Term 1 (2021-2024)  

Monica Smith, Term 1 (2021-2024)

SeungJung Kim, Term 1 (2021-2024)

Society Trustees

Gary Linn, Term 2 (2021-2024)

Joost Blom, Term 1 (2021-2024)

Thank you to Elisha Ann Dumser, Dan Schowalter, Kim Bowes, and Susanne Ebbinghaus for running for election to the Governing Board as Academic Trustees.

The AIA expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the following individuals who completed their service on the Governing Board this year.

David Seigle, Treasurer (2019-2021)

Morag Kersel, Academic Trustee (2018-2021)

Mark Lawall, Academic Trustee (2015-2021)

Kathleen Lynch, Academic Trustee (2015-2021)

Sarah Parcak, Academic Trustee (2015-2021)

Elie Abemayor, General Trustee (2015-2021)

David Adam, General Trustee (2015-2021)

Richard MacDonald, General Trustee (2019-2021)

Tina Mayland, General Trustee (2018-2021)

H. Bruce McEver, General Trustee (2015-2021)

John Yarmick, General Trustee (2015-2021)

James Jansson, Society Trustee (2015-2021)

Nominating Committee

The following individuals were elected to the Nominating Committee:


John Papadopoulos, Term 1 (2021-2022)


Deborah Arnold, Term 2 (2021-2022) 

J. Theodore Peña, Term 2 (2021-2022)

Julie Herzig Desnick, Term 1 (2021-2022)

Thomas Carpenter, Term 1 (2021-2022)

Eric Cline, Term 1 (2021-2022)

Thank you to E. Hector Williams for running for election to the Nominating Committee as Chair. Thank you to Maria Vecchiotti, David Seigle, and James Jansson for running for election to the Nominating Committee as Members.

The AIA wishes to extend its sincere thanks to the 2020-2021 Nominating Committee, chaired by Derek Counts, for its hard work in assembling an excellence slate of nominees. The 2020-2021 Nominating Committee also included Deborah Arnold, Barbara Meyer, Thomas Morton, J. Theodore Peña, and Robert Rothberg.

Corresponding Members

The following individuals were elected as Corresponding Members of the Institute:

Dimitrios Pandermalis – President, Acropolis Museum, Athens

Nicholas Stampolidis – Director, Museum of Cycladic Art, Athens

Silvia Orlandi – Professore Associato di Epigrafia Latina & Director,
Epigraphic Database Roma, L’Università di Roma, ‘La Sapienza’

Naoise Mac Sweeney – Professor of Classical Archaeology, University of Vienna

The AIA wishes to extend its sincerest thanks to the 2020-2021 Corresponding Members Committee, chaired by Thomas Carpenter, for their hard work in assembling this year’s slate of nominees. The 2020-2021 Corresponding Members Committee also included Bettina Arnold, Sebastian Heath, Charles Jones, Lauren Petersen, and Paul Scotton.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.