AIA News

January 11, 2023

2023 Council Election Results

The 2023 Council election saw a presidential change for the AIA. Elizabeth S. Greene (left) was elected to the role of President. Brian I. Daniels (center) was elected to the role of First Vice President. Laetitia La Follette (right) ended her term as President and assumed the role of Past President.

Governing Board

The AIA congratulates the following individuals who were elected to the Governing Board at the Council Meeting on January 7, 2023.


Elizabeth S. Greene, Term 1 (2023-2026)

First Vice President

Brian I. Daniels, Term 1 (2023-2026)

Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs

Kim Shelton, Term 1 (2023-2025)

Vice President for Societies

Sabrina Higgins, Term 2 (2023-2025)

Academic Trustees

John Papadopoulos, Term 2 (2023-2026)

Betsey Robinson, Term 2 (2023-2026)

General Trustees

Patrick Suehnholz, Term 2 (2023-2026)

Andrea Kmetz-Sheehy, Term 1 (2023-2026)

Kathleen Pavelko, Term 1 (2023-2026)

John Yarmick, Term 1 (2022-2025) *confirmation of prior appointment 

The AIA expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the following individuals who completed their service on the Governing Board this year.

Jodi Magness, Past President (2020-2023)

Thomas Tartaron, Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs (2019-2023)

Deborah Arnold, General Trustee (2016-2023)

Julie Herzig Desnick, General Trustee (2017-2023)

Thank you to Laetitia La Follette for serving as President of the AIA from 2020 to 2023. She will now assume the role of Past President on the Governing Board.

Nominating Committee

The AIA congratulates the following individuals who were elected to the Nominating Committee at the Council Meeting on January 7, 2023.


Sebastian Heath, Term 1 (2023-2024)


Deborah Arnold, Term 1 (2023-2024)

Lawrence Cripe, Term 2 (2023-2024)

SeungJung Kim, Term 2 (2023-2024)

Claire Lyons, Term 1 (2023-2024)

Patrick Suehnholz, Term 1 (2023-2024)

Thank you to Betsey Robinson, James Jansson, Barbara Meyer, and Robert Rothberg for running for election to the Nominating Committee.

The AIA wishes to extend its sincere thanks to the 2022-2023 Nominating Committee, chaired by John Papadopoulos, for its hard work in assembling an excellence slate of nominees. The 2022-2023 Nominating Committee also included Eric Cline, Lawrence Cripe, Julie Herzig Desnick, SeungJung Kim, and Charles Steinmetz.

Corresponding Members

The following individuals were elected as Corresponding Members of the Institute:

Bárbara Arroyo
Research Fellow, Dumbarton Oaks

Ayman Al Nabo
Director, Idleb Antiquities Center

Gerald Cadogan
Vice-President, The British School at Athens

Francesco D’Andria
Professor Emeritus of History and Archaeology, Università del Salento

Tamar Hodos
Professor of Mediterranean Archaeology, University of Bristol

Laith Majeed Hussein
Director, State Board of Antiquities and Heritage of Iraq

Daouda Keïta
Executive Director, Musée national du Mali

Annalisa Marzano
Professore Ordinario di Archeologia Classica, Alma Mater Studiorum Università di Bologna

Ihor Poshyvailo
Director, National Memorial and the Revolution of Dignity Museum

Rubina Raja
Centre Director and Professor of Classical Art and Archaeology, Aarhus University

Vasyl Rozhko
Co-Coordinator, Ukrainian Heritage Emergency Response Initiative

Khawja Najeeb Ahmad Sediqi
Former Director, Archaeological Research Center, Afghanistan Science Academy

Michalis Tiverios
Professor, University of Thessaloniki and Academy of Athens

The AIA wishes to extend its sincerest thanks to the 2022 Corresponding Members Committee, chaired by Thomas Carpenter, for their hard work in assembling this year’s slate of nominees. The 2022 Corresponding Members Committee also included Sebastian Heath, Charles Jones, Lauren Petersen, Paul Scotton, and Jo Anne Van Tilburg.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.