AIA News

November 18, 2020

Announcing the 2021 Award Winners

The Archaeological Institute of America would like to congratulate the following individuals, projects, and publications for their excellent work. They will be formally recognized at the AIA Awards Ceremony, which will take place during the virtual Annual Meeting on Thursday, January 7, 2021 at 5:00 PM (CST). All are welcome to attend the virtual Awards Ceremony and more information on how to do so will be made available soon.

Our warmest congratulations to all!

Outstanding Public Service Award – Dr. Nancy Wilkie

Award for Outstanding Work in Digital Archaeology – Nunalleq: Stories from the Village of Our Ancestors project (To be accepted by: Dr. Alice Watterson)

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award – Dr. Diane Conlin  

Felicia A. Holton Book Award – The Barbarians: Lost Civilizations (By: Dr. Peter Bogucki)

Anna Marguerite McCann Award for Fieldwork Reports Ayia Sotira: A Mycenaean Chamber Tomb Cemetery in the Nemea Valley, Greece, Prehistory Monographs 56 (By: R. Angus K. Smith, Mary K. Dabney, Evangelia Pappi, Sevasti Triantaphyllou, James C. Wright)

James R. Wiseman Book Award –  The Early Roman Expansion into Italy: Elite Negotiation and Family Agendas (By: Dr. Nicola Terrenato)

Graduate Student Paper Award (2020 Annual Meeting – First Prize) –Mr. Drew Davis

Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award – Dr. Jane Waldbaum

Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology – Dr. Paula Reimer

Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement – Dr. Katherine Dunbabin

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.