AIA News

April 26, 2012

Annual Gala’s Focus on Turkey a Wonderful Success!

Gala tables ready for our guests.

The AIA wishes to thank the members of the 2012 Gala Committee for their wonderful support and diligent efforts to ensure the success of our most important fundraiser of the year. We are particularly grateful to Co-Chairs Nina Joukowsky Koprulu and C. Brian Rose for their leadership. It takes months of hard work to organize an auction brimming with unique items and exclusive travel programs, an exciting evening program, and attendance of hundreds of people who have a true passion for archaeology.  All are hallmarks of the AIA Gala and the result of the Committee’s dedication to providing a bright future for the study, appreciation and preservation of our past.


Nina Joukowsky Köprülü

C. Brian Rose, AIA Past President


Elizabeth Bartman, AIA President

Nicholas Cahill

Bruce Campbell

Julie Herzig Desnick, AIA Trustee, and Dr. Robert J. Desnick

Cynthia Drakeman

Kathryn L. Gleason

Ron Greenberg, AIA Trustee, and Lorna Greenberg

Carin Grossman

Brian J. Heidtke, AIA Trustee

Michele Falik Kidwell

Elizabeth Macaulay, AIA Trustee

Anne McCabe

Sarah Pomeroy

Charlie Steinmetz, AIA Trustee

Douglas A. Tilden, AIA Trustee

Fikret Yegül

The AIA was honored to present Professor Crawford H. Greenewalt, Jr. with the AIA’s Bandelier Award for Public Service to Archaeology for his exemplary work at Sardis (Turkey), capital of ancient Lydia and the home of King Croesus. His work on the Archaeological Exploration of Sardis (cosponsored by Harvard University Art Museums and Cornell University) spans over half a century.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.