AIA News

January 13, 2011

Annual Meeting Election and Award Winners

by Peter Herdrich, AIA Executive Director

Opening Night Reception at SAMAThe 112th Annual Meeting of the Archaeological Institute of America took place in San Antonio, Texas January 6-9. By all accounts, the Annual Meeting was a vibrant and compelling get-together and counts as our most important academic undertaking of the year. Kudos to Professor Garrett Fagan and the hard working members of the Program for the Annual Meeting Committee, who organized over 300 papers and sessions for the event.

There is very important AIA business that goes on during the Annual Meeting and it is my pleasure to report on the results of the election and on the award winners.   

Newly Elected Officers:

  • Elizabeth Bartman, New York Society, President
  • Andrew Moore, RIT, First Vice President
  • Sebastian Heath, Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, NYU, Vice President for Professional Responsibilities
  • John Younger, University of Kansas, Vice President for Publications
  • Thomas Morton, Central Arizona Society, Vice President for Societies

General Trustees:

  • Cathleen Asch
  • Greg Goggin
  • Julie Herzig Desnick
  • Shilpi Mehta

Academic Trustees:

  • Lynn Lancaster, Ohio University
  • Shelley Wachsmann, Texas A&M University

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all who ran and to the Nominating Committee for organizing the slate. Leaving the Governing Board are Alexandra Cleworth, William Fitzhugh, Helen Nagy, Jenifer Neils, Lynn Quigley, David Seigle, and Jane Waldbaum. Our sincerest thanks to them as well for their dedicated and valuable service.

Brian Rose presents Susan Rotroff with the Gold Medal AwardAward Winners:

  • Conservation and Heritage Management Award, Archaeological Conservancy, Mark Michel, President and CEO
  • Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement, Susan Rotroff, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award, Ava Seave
  • Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology, Michael Glascock, University of Missouri
  • Outstanding Public Service Award, Stefano De Caro, Italian Ministry of Culture
  • Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, Susan Stevens, Randolph College
  • James R. Wiseman Book Award, Peter Stone and Joanne Farchakh Bajjaly, The Destruction of Cultural Heritage in Iraq (Boydell Press, 2008)
  • Felicia A. Holton Book Award winner, Benjamin R. Foster and Karen Polinger Foster, Civilizations of Ancient Iraq (Princeton University Press, 2009)
  • Felicia A. Holton Book Award Honorable Mention, Patrick E. McGovern, Uncorking the Past: The Quest for Wine, Beer and Other Alcoholic Beverages, (University of California Press, 2009)
  • Best Practices in Site Preservation, Giorgio Buccellati, UCLA
  • Graduate Student Paper winner, John Marston, UCLA
  • Graduate Student Paper first runner up, Stephanie Pearson, UC-Berkeley

Society Awards:

  • Best Society Lecture Flyer: Vancouver
  • Best Society Website: San Antonio
  • Golden Trowel Award: Salem
  • Lecture Lottery: Boston
  • Foot Soldier: Hélène Case, Rochester Society
  • LifeSaver: Vanessa Rousseau, Minnesota Society
  • Newly Chartered Society:  Dayton, Ohio

Poster Awards:

  • Best Poster: “The Construction and Use of Leather Goods in the Roman World” – Elizabeth M. Greene, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Runner Up Poster:  “Analyzing Bronze Age Terrestrial and Marine Communication Routes in the Saronic Gulf and Argolid” – Angelina D. Phebus, James M. L. Newhard, and Norman Levin, College of Charleston
  • Best Poster Designed Entirely by Graduate Students:  “Destruction and Death: Preliminary Observations of Archaeological Fauna from Petsas House Well” – Gypsy Price, University of Florida; Jackie Meier, University of Connecticut, Kim S. Shelton, University of California Berkeley

Congratulations to all the winners, of both the awards and the elections.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.