Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

VIRTUAL - Gender and Money. A Cross-Cultural Perspective

March 25, 2022 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm EDT

This is an online event hosted in .



Reproduction and circulation, when thought about in the context of money or bodies, appear to be highly gendered phenomena. Intricate connections between different systems of exchange and gender have been recognized around the globe, in different societies and different periods. Yet, the theme still seems understudied and undertheorized. We want to rethink the topic beyond static classifications of numbers and images, with an emphasis on dynamic processes – of (re)making, (re)using, (re)conceiving. Gender and Money therefore addresses the theme under different parameters, including all forms of money understood broadly as tokens of (real or symbolic) exchange rather than currency. Moreover, we want to be attentive to the intersectionality of gender with age, class, social status, race or ethnicity.

Programme
7.00 AM PDT/ 10.00 EDT/ 3.00 PM CET
Annetta Alexandridis (Ithaca, NY) & Stefan Krmnicek (Tübingen) Introduction

Panel 1: The Gender of Money and of Value
7.30 AM PDT/ 10.30 AM EDT/ 3.30 PM CET
Diane Cady (Oakland, CA) The Gender of Money: Isomorphic Links and Theoretical Connections
8.00 AM PDT/ 11.00 AM EDT/ 4.00 PM CET
Claudia Perassi (Milan) Roman and Early Medieval Coin Jewels. Who Wears What?
8.30 AM PDT/ 11.30 AM EDT/ 4.30 PM CET
Mali Skotheim (Delhi) Gendered Festival Iconography: The Male Athletic Body on Roman Imperial Coinage
9.00 AM PDT/ 12.00 PM EDT/ 5.00 PM CET
Olivia Graves (Ithaca, NY) Response and Discussion
9.30 AM PDT/ 12.30 PM EDT/ 5.30 PM CET
Coffee Break

Panel 2: Economies of Care, Agency of Money
10.00 AM PDT/ 1.00 PM EDT/ 6.00 PM CET
Sibel Kusimba (Tampa, FL) Women, Care, and Digital Money in Kenya
10.30 AM PDT/ 1.30 PM EDT/ 6.30 PM CET
Nanouschka Burström (Stockholm) Coins, Bodies, Games and Silver: Females and Value in Viking-Age Scandinavia
11.00 AM PDT/ 2.00 PM EDT/ 7.00 PM CET
Roberta Stewart (Hanover, CT) Vesta’s Cup
11.30 AM PDT/ 2.30 PM EDT/ 7.30 PM CET
Kaja McGowan (Ithaca, NY) Till They Have Faces: The Role of Coin Figures (Pratima) in Bali, Indonesia
12.00 PM PDT/ 3.00 PM EDT/ 8.00 PM CET
Amiel Bize (Ithaca, NY) Response and Final Discussion

If you are interested in attending, please email Stefan Krmnicek: stefan.krmnicek@uni-tuebingen.de

When placing events on your calendar using these buttons, please check that time zone displays correctly.

Contacts

Stefan Krmnicek
Annetta Alexandridis

Other

In-person or Virtual Event
Virtual
Text GIVE 10 to 833-965-2840 to donate!

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.