Society Awards

Life Saver Award

Archaeological Institute of America

Deadline: December 1, 2023

We’ve all had it happen: the event where Murphy’s Law takes over and threatens to cancel the best laid plans: a freak storm, delayed flights, power outages and other venue issues, etc. This award recognizes those individuals who persevere and show that even when things go wrong, it can all work out right! In fact, these inspiring stories from our trenches often become the impetus for societies to create new kinds of events or simply remind us not to worry about our existing ones as our intrepid members will always find a way to make it work. This award is open to any AIA member who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in their efforts to make an AIA sponsored event the best it can be.

Nomination Process

Nominations in the form of a letter detailing the nominee’s qualification can be sent to Sarah Smith. Nominations are due in the fall.



Andrew Goldman, Spokane Society


Aaron Theis, Denver Society


Michael Bickel, St. Louis Society


Vanessa Rousseau


John Hale

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.