AIA News

February 16, 2024

New Corresponding Members

At the 2024 Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL Council approved the nomination of six new Corresponding Members. Corresponding Members of the AIA are distinguished scholars outside the United States and Canada who have attained acknowledged eminence in some branch of archaeology or related fields, including education, conservation, and museums.

Irene Lemos​
Professor of Classical Archaeology, Fellow of Merton College, University of Oxford​

Leonardo López Luján​
Archaeologist, Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (INAH), Mexico​

Petranka Nedelcheva​
Senior Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Head of Exhibitions and International Department, New Bulgarian University and Bulgarian National Museum of History​

​Henry Tantaleán
Professor/Director, Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Peru​

Natalia Vogeikoff-Brogan​
Archivist, American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Greece​

Pangiotis Karkanas​
Director of the Malcolm H. Weiner Laboratory for Archaeological Science, ​
American School of Classical Studies in Athens, Greece​

To learn more about the new Corresponding Members, click here.

For a complete list of all Corresponding Members of the AIA, click here. 

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.