AIA News

February 2, 2018

New Corresponding Members

Council approved the nomination of seven new Corresponding Members. 

Penelope Allison, University of Leicester

Janice Crowley, Australian Archaeological Institute at Athens 

Marcella Frangipane, University of Rome

Pierre Gros, University of Provence

Aliki Moustaka, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Susanne Sievers, Goethe University Frankfurt

Henner von Hesberg, German Archaeological Institute, Rome; University of Cologne


To learn more about each of this year’s nominees, click here. 

For a complete list of all Corresponding Members of the AIA, click here. 


The AIA wishes to extend its sincerest thanks to the 2017-2018 Corresponding Members Committee, chaired by Megan Cifarelli, for their hard work in assembling this year’s slate of nominees. The Committee consisted of Bettina Arnold, Lauren Peterson, Brian Rose, and Paul Scotton. It was overseen by First Vice President, Laetitia La Follette, and assisted by AIA Staff Liaison, Kevin Mullen. 

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.