AIA News

February 19, 2015

Wiseman Book Award Call for Nominations

The James R. Wiseman Book Award Committee wishes to expand input from the AIA professional members by soliciting nominations for the best recent academic book in archaeology.

The criteria for nomination are few:

  • The author (or at least one if a co-author) must be a member in good standing of the AIA.
  • The book must be published within 4 calendar years of the next award, i.e., 2012-2015.

We generally do not accept edited volumes such as conference proceedings or festschrifts, but multi-authored volumes such as those generated through fieldwork may be considered.

You may find a nomination form on the AIA’s website at: We merely ask that you tell us why you think this is the best academic book in archaeology of the last few years, how this book might influence the future direction of archaeology, and would it appeal to professionals outside of the Mediterranean.

For a list of previous winners, please see the AIA’s website at:

Nominations are due March 16, 2015. Thanks in advance for helping us expand our pool of books nominated for the Wiseman Award!

Daniel Pullen, Chair of the Wiseman Book Award Committee

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.