The Council of the AIA is made up of its Governing Board, Past Presidents, Chairmen of the Managing Committees of all American Schools that the Institute has founded, the Presidents of all affiliated Local Societies, and additional members from each Society depending on its size. The Council meets once a year at the Annual Meeting of the Institute. Information for Council Representatives can be found here

Governing Board

In the interval between the Council's annual meetings, the Governing Board exercises full power in managing the Institute and conducting its affairs. In addition, the Governing Board has responsibility for preparing and approving the organization's annual budget, for overseeing its investments and endowment, and for conducting fund-raising activities. The Governing Board meets three times per year and consists of seven officers and 24 to 30 Trustees elected by Council. There are three divisions of Trustees, representing the AIA's general Members, the academic community, and the organization's Local Societies.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee was established by the Governing Board in 1984 to "exercise all the power and authority of the Governing Board in between meetings of the Governing Board." The Committee also nominates recipients of the Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award at its fall meeting. The Committee has 12 members: the President, First Vice President, Vice President for Professional Responsibilities, Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs, Vice President for Societies, Vice President for Outreach and Education, Treasurer, and Executive Director (all of whom shall serve ex officio), and four Trustees, at least one of whom must be an Academic Trustee. The Trustees will be appointed to the Executive Committee by the President on an annual basis, and take office immediately after the Council Meeting in January. The Committee meets via conference call between meetings of the Governing Board. Approved minutes of the meetings are circulated to the Governing Board and published in the AIA Bulletin.


Andrew Moore

New Castle, NH

First Vice President
Jodi Magness
Chapel Hill, NC
Vice President for
Professional Responsibilities
Laetitia La Follette
Amherst, MA
Vice President for Societies

Thomas Morton
Swarthmore, PA

Vice President for Research and Academic Affairs
Carla Antonaccio
Durham, NC

Vice President for Outreach and Education

Pamela Russell
Amherst, MA

David Ackert
New York, NY


Legal Counsel
Mitchell Eitel of Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
New York, NY

General Trustees

David R. Boochever
Manhattan Beach, CA
Bruce Campbell
New York, NY
Ronald Greenberg
Scarsdale, NY
Julie Herzig Desnick
New York, NY
Jeffrey Lamia
New York, NY
Deborah Lehr
Washington, DC
Elizabeth Macaulay-Lewis
New York, NY
Eleanor Powers
New York, NY
Paul Rissman
Summit, NJ
Robert Rothberg
Summit, NJ
David Seigle
Santa Ana, CA
Charlie Steinmetz
Manhattan Beach, CA
Michael Wiseman
New York, NY



Academic Trustees

Susan Alcock
Providence, RI
Barbara Barletta
Gainesville, FL
Andrea M. Berlin
Boston, MA
Derek B. Counts
Milwaukee, WI
Michael Galaty
Starkville, MS
Lynne Lancaster
Athens, OH
J. Theodore Peña
Berkeley, CA
Chen Shen
Toronto, Canada
Monica L. Smith
Los Angeles, CA

Society Trustees

Michael Hoff
Lincoln, NE

Becky Lao
Houston, TX
Robert Littman
Honolulu, HI
Maria Papaioannou
Fredericton, Canada



Past President

Elizabeth Bartman
New York, NY

Trustees Emeriti

Brian J. Heidtke
Wyckoff, NJ
Norma Kershaw
Mission Viejo, CA
Charles S. La Follette
San Francisco, CA

Ex Officio Members

Sheila Dillon
Editor in Chief
American Journal of Archaeology
Claudia Valentino
Editor in Chief


Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!