Site Preservation News

March 19, 2014

2015 Conservation & Heritage Management Award: Call for Nominations

The Staffordshire Hoard Conservation Program received the 2014 CHM Award for its excellent work conserving and promoting one of the most stunning Anglo-Saxon hoards discovered to date (Photo: SHCP/BMAG)

The AIA’s Conservation & Heritage Management (CHM) Award is presented to individuals or institutions recognized by their peers for exceptional achievement in any of the following areas:

1)      Archaeological Conservation

2)      Archaeological Conservation Science

3)      Archaeological Heritage Management

4)      Education or public awareness of archaeological conservation

The AIA is pleased to have presented the CHM Award to a variety of different institutions and individuals for their exemplary and varied work in the field of archaeological conservation. From the Archaeological Conservancy’s efforts to acquire threatened archaeological sites across the US to the tireless efforts of Professor Sudharshan Seneviratne to protect and preserve the archaeological heritage of Sri Lanka to the Museum of London’s extensive efforts to raise public awareness of the importance of conserving our cultural heritage, the AIA is honored to recognize the many different yet equally important ways that we can save our archaeological heritage. To learn more about past recipients, visit the CHM Award webpage.

The nomination deadline for this award is May 1, 2014. To nominate a deserving individual or group, please send name(s), a CV, and a substantive statement about the nominee’s qualifications to the AIA by email or mail a hard copy to:

Archaeological Institute of America

44 Beacon Street

Boston, MA 02108

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.