AIA Committees

Cultural Heritage Committee

Overseeing Officer: Brian I. Daniels, Vice President for Cultural Heritage

Chair: Brian I. Daniels, ex officio

Staff Liaison: Meredith Langlitz,

The Committee tracks and reports on international and national legal developments that affect archaeology and archaeological heritage preservation. The Committee will also investigate and respond to issues concerning the trade in illegally obtained and looted antiquities and will assist the AIA in developing timely responses as necessary.


Alex Barker, (2021-2024) Term 2

Peter de Staebler, (2019-2022) Term 1

Jane D. Evans, (2020-2023) Term 2

Patty Gerstenblith, (2020-2023) Term 2

Elizabeth S. Greene, ex officio

Ömür Harmanşah, 2021-2024) Term 1

Julie Herzig Desnick, (2020-2023) Term 2

Heidi James Fisher, (2020-2023) Term 1

Mireille Lee, (2021-2024) Term 2

Elizabeth Macaulay, (2021-2024) Term 1

Seth Pevnick, (2020-2023) Term 1

Daniel Schowalter, (2021-2024) Term 1

Josephine Shaya, (2019-2022) Term 1

Maria Vecchiotti, (2021-2024) Term 2

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.