AIA Committees

Digital Technology Committee

Overseeing Officer: Ömür Harmanşah, Vice President for Cultural Heritage

Chair: Leigh Lieberman, (2024-2026) Term 1

Staff Liaison: Kevin Mullen,

The AIA Digital Technology Committee is charged with exploring how developments in technology can enhance the outreach, scholarship, and publications of the AIA. The committee is tasked with charges including but not limited to: soliciting nominations for the Outstanding Work in Digital Archaeology award, reviewing nominations, and selecting an award recipient; promoting digital archaeology through sponsoring and developing workshops, lectures, and panels at the annual meetings and beyond; creating and reviewing the addendum on digital scholarship to the AIA tenure and promotion guidelines (and other professional development tasks); and submitting timely reports to the Governing Board and Executive Officers. The Committee also recommends technical and information developments to promote the AIA’s mission and other initiatives, i.e., membership, outreach, education and site preservation.


Tom Elliott, (2024-2026) Term 1

Vivian Laughlin, (2024-2026) Term 2

Sarah Kansa, (2024-2026) Term 1

Eric Poehler, (2024-2026) Term 2

Elizabeth W. Thill, (2024-2026) Term 2

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.