AIA Committees

James R. Wiseman Book Award Committee

Overseeing Officer: Elizabeth S. Greene , First Vice President

Chair: Charles Jones, (2020-2022) Term 1

Staff Liaison: Christina Tavella,

Each year, the James R. Wiseman Book Award Committee will recommend, in time for presentation of the award at the Annual Meeting of the Institute, the academic work on an archaeological topic it deems most worthy of recognition in that year. Books and monographs bearing a date of publication within the four calendar years prior to (not including) the year of the Annual Meeting at which the award is made are eligible for consideration. Textbooks will not be considered, and handbooks or other edited volumes must be exceptionally strong contributions to qualify for consideration.


Judith Barringer, (2022-2023) Term 1

Matthew Canepa, (2022-2023) Term 1

Ömür Harmanşah, (2021-2024) Term 1

Lora Holland Goldthwaite, (2022-2023) Term 1

Lynne Lancaster, (2022-2023) Term 1

Susan Lupack, (2020-2022) Term 1

Kathleen Lynch, (2021-2023) Term 1

John Marston, (2021-2023) Term 1

David L. Stone, ex officio

Mary Sturgeon, (2021-2023) Term 2

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.