AIA Committees

Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award Committee

Overseeing Officer: Sabrina Higgins, Vice President for Societies

Chair: William Murray, (2024-2026) Term 1

Staff Liaison: Kati Albert,

Each year, the Subcommittee shall recommend to the Executive Committee one nomination for the Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award. The nominee should be the person whom the Subcommittee, in its collective judgment, considers to be the most deserving of such recognition by the Institute. After approval of the nominee by the Executive Committee, the Subcommittee is to prepare a draft of the citation. The citation is presented to the recipient at the Annual Meeting. Trustees currently serving on the Governing Board are ineligible to receive this award.


Joost Blom, (2023-2025) Term 2

Arthur Cassanos, (2023-2025) Term 2

Allison Emmerson, (2022-2024) Term 1

Andrew Goldman, (2024-2026) Term 1

John Hale, (2023-2025) Term 2

Lora Holland Goldthwaite, (2022-2024) Term 1

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.