Hiking Scotland's Orkney & Shetland Islands (land tour)

Dates: Saturday, August 1, 2015 to Tuesday, August 11, 2015 (11 days)

Ring of Brodgar, Orkney Islands.

This is the perfect opportunity to explore all that Scotland’s Northern Isles have to offer: prehistoric stone circles, burial chambers, and settlements; early monasteries and medieval castles; quaint villages; huge seabird colonies; and remarkable plant life—all amidst dramatic scenery. These remote and beautiful Scottish Isles are a wonderful destination to explore by foot and small vehicles with no more than fifteen travelers. Hiking amid windswept, island landscapes to an amazing wealth of archaeological sites dating back 5,000 years, you will have time for in-depth exploration at sites including Orkney’s Maeshowe, Stones of Stenness, Ring of Brodgar, and Skara Brae; and Shetland’s Mousa Broch, Old Scatness, and Jarlshof.


Main Tour Pricing: TBA per person double occupancy.
Single Supplement: TBA


 

Itinerary

*NOTE* Sample abbreviated Itinerary from 2014. The 2015 trip is still in the planning process.

Saturday, June 14, 2014  - DEPART HOME
Sunday, June 15 - Aberdeen, SCOTLAND | Kirkwall, Orkney
Monday, June 16 - Kirkwall | Mainland Orkney | Kirkwall
Tuesday, June 17 - Kirkwall | Isle of Rousay | Kirkwall
Wednesday, June 18 - Kirkwall | Skara Brae | Kirkwall
Thursday, June 19 - Kirkwall | Isle of Hoy | Kirkwall
Friday, June 20 - Lerwick, Shetland | South Mainland | St. Ninian’s Isle | Brae, North Mainland
Saturday, June 21 - Brae | Fethaland | Brae
Sunday, June 22 - Brae | Isle of Unst | Brae
Monday, June 23 - Brae | Isle of Mousa | Lerwick
Tuesday, June 24 - Aberdeen | FLY HOME


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!