AIA Tour Programs

Archaeological-themed tours for the curious to the connoisseur

AIA Tours offers in-depth land trips that range from comfortable to ultra-luxurious and cruises aboard outstanding small ships that can dock and anchor at historic ports and towns that larger ships simply cannot visit.

Alaska's Glaciers & the Inside Passage

Saturday, July 13, 2019 to Saturday, July 20, 2019 (8 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Ted Goebel

Treasures of the Mediterranean World

Saturday, July 13, 2019 to Tuesday, July 23, 2019 (11 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Kathleen Lynch

Human Origins in South Africa

Saturday, August 31, 2019 to Saturday, September 14, 2019 (15 Days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Ian Tattersall

Croatia: Prehistory to the Present

Sunday, September 15, 2019 to Saturday, September 28, 2019 (14 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Andrew M.T. Moore

Prehistoric Cave Art of Spain & France

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 to Monday, September 30, 2019 (13 Days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Paul G. Bahn

Dalmatia & Ancient Greece: Venice to Athens

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 to Tuesday, October 1, 2019 (14 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Nancy Wilkie

Grand Voyage: Adriatic & Aegean Seas

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 to Monday, October 7, 2019 (20 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Nancy Wilkie

Classical Greece & Islands of the Aegean

Tuesday, September 24, 2019 to Monday, October 7, 2019 (14 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Nancy Wilkie

Sicily: Archaeology, Art & Cuisine

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 to Saturday, October 12, 2019 (11 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Carla Antonaccio

Oman & Zanzibar 2019

October 5-23, 2019 (19 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Trevor Marchand

The Legacy of Ancient Rome

October 6-17, 2019 (sold out) and in the planning stages for 2020 (12 days)

Tunisia: Phoenicians to Romans, Mosaics to Mosques

October 17-27, 2019 (sold out) in the planning stages for 2020 (11 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Nejib ben Lazreg

Temples & Palaces of Northern India

Wednesday, November 6, 2019 to Saturday, November 23, 2019 (18 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Kirtana Thangavelu

Cruising the Mekong River

Monday, December 2, 2019 to Sunday, December 15, 2019 (14 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Joyce C. White

Absolute Egypt, December 2019

December 4-20, 2019 (17 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Stephen Harvey

Persian Gulf Cruise: Dubai, Qatar, Abu Dhabi and Oman

Thursday, January 2, 2020 to Sunday, January 12, 2020 (10 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Trevor Marchand

Maya Pyramids & Temples of Yucatan

January 11-19, 2020 (9 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Jeff Karl Kowalski

Madagascar to Mauritius: Islands of the Indian Ocean

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 to Friday, January 31, 2020 (17 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Ian Tattersall

Absolute Egypt 2020

January 18-February 3, 2020 OR February 15-March 2, 2020 (sold out) (17 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Stephen Harvey

Jungle Kingdoms of the Ancient Maya

Saturday, January 25, 2020 to Friday, February 7, 2020 (14 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Virginia Miller

Southern India: Temples & Palaces

Sunday, January 26, 2020 to Wednesday, February 12, 2020 (18 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Annapurna Garimella

Morocco: From the Desert to the Sea

March 14-28, 2020 in the planning stages (14 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Trevor Marchand

Iran: The Ancient Land of Persia

April 8-23, 2020 (16 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Alexander Nagel

Israel: Treasures of the Holy Land

May 2-14, 2020 (13 Days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Jodi Magness

The Silk Road: Empires of Central Asia (land tour)

May 15-31, 2020 (17 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Aleksandr Naymark

Decorated Caves of the Pyrenees & the Rhone Valley

May 21-31, 2020 (11 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Ian Tattersall

Scottish Isles & Norwegian Fjords

May 23-31, 2020 (9 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Elizabeth Pierce

Hiking Scotland's Orkney & Shetland Islands

Saturday, June 27 to July 7, 2020 (11 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Val Turner

Changing Tides of History: Cruising the Baltic Sea

Sunday, June 29, 2020 to Tuesday, July 8, 2020 (10 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Elizabeth Pierce

Prehistoric Cave Art of Spain & France 2020

September 23-October 5, 2020 in the planning stages (13 Days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Paul G. Bahn

Oman & Zanzibar 2020

September 26-October 14, 2020 in the planning stages (19 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Trevor Marchand

The Legacy of Ancient Rome 2020

October 2-13, 2020 in the planning stages (12 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Albert Leonard, Jr.

Tunisia: Phoenicians to Romans, Mosaics to Mosques 2020

October 15-25, 2020 (11 days)

with AIA lecturer/host: Nejib ben Lazreg

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.