AIA Awards Ceremony

Each year, the Archaeological Institute of America gathers at the Annual Meeting to recognize the work of our outstanding award winners. You can watch the 2024 Awards Ceremony below.

The Archaeological Institute of America would like to congratulate the following individuals, projects, and publications for their excellent work. They were formally recognized at the AIA Awards Ceremony, which took place during the Annual Meeting on Saturday, January 6, 2024 at 7:30 pm CT in Chicago, IL, and on Zoom. This is the recording from that ceremony, featuring speeches from the winners who attended in person, and pre-recorded messages from those who could not attend. Our warmest congratulations to all!

  • Outstanding Public Service Award – Kaplan, Kirsch & Rockwell
  • Award for Outstanding Work in Digital ArchaeologyA Cemetery and Quarry from Imperial Gabii (Laura M. Banducci & Anna Gallone)
  • Felicia A. Holton Book Award (Winner)Under Jerusalem: The Buried History of the World’s Most Contested City (Andrew Lawler)
  • Felicia A. Holton Book Award (Honorable Mention)Buried Beneath the City: An Archaeological History of New York (Nan Rothschild, Amanda Sutphin, H. Arthur Bankoff, Jessica Striebel MacLean)
  • Anna Marguerite McCann Award for Fieldwork Reports​The Kyrenia Ship: Final Excavation Report. Volume I History of the Excavation, Amphoras, Pottery and Coins as Evidence for Dating​ (Susan Katzev and Helena Swiny​)
  • James R. Wiseman Book AwardWall Paintings and Social Context: The Northeast Bastion at Ayia Irini (Lyvia Morgan)
  • Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award – Sinclair Bell
  • The <<Telestes>> Award for Research in Material Culture in Ancient Music and Dance – Thaisa Martins Coelho​ dos Santos, “Representações dos 108 Karaṇas: Construção de discursos do passado indiano a partir do corpo, da dança e da materialidade
  • The <<Telestes>> Award for Research in Material Culture in Ancient Music and Dance – Hasan Basan Fırat, “Historically Informed Soundscape Design: A Method for Digital Reconstruction of the Historical Soundscapes”
  • 2023 Graduate Student Paper Award (First Prize) – Emily C. Mohr​, “Nikandre Who Contends with Men: A Reconsideration of Nikandre’s Dedication on Delos”​
  • 2023 Graduate Student Paper Award – Honorable Mention Prize (2023) – Brigitte Keslinke​, “Consuming the State: The Topography of Food Security in 2nd century CE Rome”
  • Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award​ – Charles Steinmetz
  • Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award -​ Andrew Goldman
  • Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology​ – Deborah Pearsall
  • Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement​: John McK. Camp, II

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.