Human Origins in South Africa (land tour), 2019

Dates: Saturday, August 31, 2019 to Saturday, September 14, 2019 (15 Days)
Tour Leader: Ian Tattersall

Join Dr. Ian Tattersall, curator emeritus at the American Museum of Natural History and renowned paleoanthropologist and author, on this diverse South African adventure featuring fascinating paleontological localities; evocative historical sites and modern cities; sublime mountain, veld, and coastal scenery; wildlife viewing and photography opportunities; delicious cuisine; and 4- and 5-star accommodations. Travel from the lovely Magaliesberg Mountains to early human sites in the “Cradle of Humankind,” such as Sterkfontein Caves, and as far afield as the Makapansgat Valley and West Coast Fossil Park. Visit Blombos Museum of Archaeology and Pinnacle Point Caves, with private tours of both by a guest archaeologist. Spend two nights at a luxurious camp to explore the Kapama Game Reserve, enjoying morning and afternoon game drives. Take guided tours of Pretoria and Cape Town, and tour the Cape Winelands, where you will sample some of South Africa’s most renowned wines. Dr. Tattersall and local guides will accompany you throughout, weaving together the threads of past and present that make up the rich tapestry of human evolution. Maximum of 20 participants.


 

Tour Price (13 nights):
$9,945 per person, double occupancy (16-20 participants)

$10,445 per person, double occupancy (12-15 participants)
$1,845 single supplement (limited availability)

 


 

Brochure

Forms

Itinerary

Saturday, August 31, 2019: Depart Home
Sunday, September 1: Arrive Johannesburg, South Africa | Transfer to Magaliesberg | Welcome Dinner
Monday, September 2: Sterkfontein Caves | Maropeng Visitor Centre
Tuesday, September 3: Fly to Hoedspruit | Kapama Game Reserve | PM Game Drive
Wednesday, September 4: AM Game Drive | PM Game Drive
Thursday, September 5: AM Game Drive | Drive to Polokwane
Friday, September 6: Makapansgat Valley
Saturday, September 7: At leisure | Pretoria
Sunday, September 8: Pretoria city tour | Johannesburg | Fly to Cape Town
Monday, September 9: Cape Town city tour | Iziko South African Museum | Bo-Kaap | Table Mountain | Milnerton
Tuesday, September 10: Cape Winelands | Wine Tasting | Boschendal Wine Estate
Wednesday, September 11: West Coast Fossil Park | Darling
Thursday, September 12: Blombos Museum of Archaeology | Pinnacle Point Caves | George
Friday, September 13: Oudtshoorn | Cango Caves | Ostrich Farm | Farewell Dinner
Saturday, September 14: George | Fly to Johannesburg | Fly Home

View detailed itinerary

If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/aia_humanorigins8-19_resform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!