Jungle Kingdoms of the Ancient Maya (land tour)

Dates: Saturday, January 25, 2020 to Friday, February 7, 2020 (14 days)
Tour Leader: Virginia Miller

“I enjoyed this trip and learned more than any other archaeological experience I have had. Our tour manager was excellent with every detail of the tour executed perfectly and with charm and friendship.”
- Dee, Florida

This tropical adventure provides the best-paced itinerary available to thoroughly explore ancient Maya sites in the lush jungles of Mexico, Guatemala, and Honduras. Maya art and architecture will “come alive” as you encounter enormous stelae (carved monoliths), painted frescoes, stucco friezes, carved lintels, and huge temple-pyramids that soar above the rainforest. Explore, in-depth, the sites of Palenque, Bonampak, Yaxchilán, Tikal, Yaxhá, Copán, and Quiriguá (four are UNESCO World Heritage sites); with free time to go bird watching or simply relax, reflect, and enjoy our comfortable hotels and remote jungle lodges. Maximum of just 12 guests.


Pricing:
$8,345 (10-12 participants) per person double occupancy
$9,145 (8-9 participants) per person double occupancy
$1,145 single supplement

Brochure

Forms

Itinerary

Saturday, January 25, 2020 - Fly from the U.S. to Villahermosa, Mexico
Sunday, January 26 - Comalcalco | Hacienda visit | Welcome dinner
Monday, January 27 - La Venta Park | Palenque
Tuesday, January 28 - Palenque | Jungle trail walk | Palenque site museum
Wednesday, January 29 - AM at leisure | Bonampak | Fontera Corozal
Thursday, January 30 -  Yaxchilán
Friday, January 31 - Tikal, Guatemala
Saturday, February 1 - Tikal
Sunday, February 2 - Optional pre-dawn hike | Tikal site museum | PM at leisure or Yaxhá
Monday, February 3 - Rio Dulce | Southeastern Petén Regional Museum, Dolores
Tuesday, February 4 - Quiriguá | Motagua Valley | Paleontology and Archaeology Museum, Estanzuela | Copán, Honduras
Wednesday, February 5 - Copán
Thursday, February 6 - Sepulturas Group | Rastrojón | San Pedro Sula | Farewell dinner
Friday, February 7 - Fly home
 

If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

 

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/mayajungle1-20_rezform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!