Japan by Sea: Land of the Rising Sun

Dates: Sunday, April 15, 2018 to Saturday, April 28, 2018 (14 days)
Tour Leader: Mikael Adolphson

Kenroku-en, Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture, Japan.

Cruise through the Inland Sea and the Sea of Japan on a delightful springtime exploration of Japan with AIA lecturer and host Mikael Adolphson, a Professor of Japanese Studies and an expert in pre-1600 Japan. This small nation of nearly 7,000 islands is wonderfully suited for exploration by small ship, and the all-suite, 57-cabin Caledonian Sky conveys us comfortably to a fascinating variety of tranquil historic towns, artistic centers, and remote islands that larger ships cannot access, including time ashore in both Kyoto and Tokyo. Experience dramatic coastlines, sacred temples, celebrated gardens, and cutting-edge art and architecture. Meet and interact with a kabuki actor and the owner of a traditional geisha house, take part in a traditional tea ceremony, participate in a hands-on taiko drum workshop with the world-famous Kodo drummers, and marvel at the iconic beauty of Miyajima’s torii gate. An optional pre-trip extension to the Kii Peninsula and Iya Valley, and an optional post-trip extension to Kamakura and Hakone, are also available.

Aboard the all-suite, 57-cabin Caledonian Sky


Pricing starting at $9,990 Per Person/Double Occupancy
Single pricing starting at $18,490


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Itinerary

PRE VOYAGE OPTIONAL EXTENSION
April 10 - 16 - Kii Peninsula & Iya Valley

MAIN VOYAGE
Sunday & Monday, April 15 & 16 - Home / Kyoto, Japan
Tuesday, April 17 - Kyoto
Wednesday, April 18 - Kyoto
Thursday, April 19 - Kyoto / Kobe (Embark)
Friday, April 20 - Naoshima
Saturday, April 21 - Miyajima
Sunday, April 22 - Hagi
Monday, April 23 - Ulsan, South Korea
Tuesday, April 24 - Matsue, Japan
Wednesday, April 25 - Kanazawa
Thursday, April 26 - Sado Island
Friday, April 27- Niigata / Tokyo (Disembark)
Saturday, April 28 - Tokyo | Home
** Note: Several days offer optional excursions from which to choose (see brochure). **

POST VOYAGE OPTIONAL EXTENSION
April 28 - May 1 - Kamakura & Hakone

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).