Sri Lanka: South Asia’s Multicultural Isle

Dates: Sunday, March 11, 2018 to Monday, March 26, 2018 (16 days)
Tour Leader: Nancy Wilkie

UNESCO World Heritage site of Dambulla. Image © cherubino.

Tropical Sri Lanka, a ‘resplendent land’ of great natural beauty, is replete with ancient sites and diverse cultural traditions dating back thousands of years. Explore its cultural and natural treasures with Nancy Wilkie, a former AIA President, and our local guide who together will help you understand and appreciate Sri Lanka’s archaeology, art, architecture, history, and cultures. Gain an excellent introduction to the country in the capital city of Colombo, and visit all six of Sri Lanka’s cultural World Heritage sites: the ancient capital of Anuradhapura; rock fortress of Sigiriya; ruins of Polonnaruwa, whose sculpture is some of the best on the island; caves of Dambulla, housing a mixture of religious and secular painting and sculpture; Kandy, with its famed Temple of the Tooth; and colonial Galle. Also explore some of the island’s best museum collections, Ritigala Nature Reserve, and Yala National Park; and attend a performance by Kandyan dance expert Peter Surasena. Limited to 12 participants.


Pricing:
$6,295 (11-12 participants) per person double occupancy
$6,795 (8-10 participants) per person double occupancy
$1,275 single supplement (limited availability)


 

Download the Brochure or View Online

Forms

Itinerary

Sunday & Monday, March 11 & 12, 2018: Arrive Colombo, Sri Lanka
Tuesday, March 13: Colombo
Wednesday, March 14: Colombo | Kelaniya | Pinnawala | Sigiriya
Thursday, March 15: Sigiriya | Anuradhapura | Sigiriya
Friday, March 16: Sigiriya
Saturday, March 17: Sigiriya | Polonnaruwa | Sigiriya
Sunday, March 18: Sigiriya | Kalawewa | Mihintale | Ritigala | Sigiriya
Monday, March 19: Sigiriya | Dambulla | Aluvihara | Nalanda | Kandy
Tuesday, March 20: Kandy
Wednesday, March 21: Kandy | Peradeniya | Kandy
Thursday, March 22: Kandy | Peradeniya | Nuwara Eliya
Friday, March 23: Nuwara Eliya | Kirinda | Yala
Saturday, March 24: Yala | Kataragama | Yala
Sunday, March 25: Yala | Galle
Monday, March 26: Galle | Colombo | Home

View Detailed Itinerary


If you have any additional questions, please email us at aia@studytours.org (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Related PDFs

  • https://www.archaeological.org/sites/default/files/aia_tours_sri_lanka3-18_resform.pdf
  • Dig Deeper

    Email the AIA
    Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

    Sign Up!