Iran: The Ancient Land of Persia (land tour)


Wednesday, May 3, 2017 to Thursday, May 18, 2017
(16 days)
Tour Leader: Alexander Nagel


"We enjoyed the itinerary and the people of Iran. It’s a wonderful place to visit!" 
- Barbara, California

The art and archaeology of the Persian Empire, as well as its complex interactions with ancient Greece, Mesopotamia, and Egypt, are a focus of your AIA study leader’s research and expertise. This special tour of Iran includes eight UNESCO World Heritage sites. One of them, Persepolis, you will visit twice; it is considered one of the world’s most spectacular archaeological sites. In addition to the dazzling cities of Tehran, Shiraz, and Isfahan, discover the Sasanian religious center of Takht-e Soleiman; Pasargadae, location of the first Persian capital; Yazd, one of the last strongholds of Zoroastrianism; and much more.

$8,695 (15-20 participants) per person double occupancy
$9,195 (10-14 participants) per person double occupancy
$1,595 single supplement


Download the Brochure or View Online


Wednesday, May 3, 2017: Depart Home
Thursday, May 4: Vienna, Austria | Tehran, Iran
Friday, May 5: Tehran
Saturday, May 6: Tehran
Sunday, May 7: Tehran | Soltaniye | Takht-e Soleiman | Takab
Monday, May 8: Takab | Hamadan | Tepe Nush-e Jan | Kermanshah
Tuesday, May 9: Kermanshah | Bisotun | Taq-e Bostan | Kermanshah
Wednesday, May 10: Kermanshah | Yazd
Thursday, May 11: Yazd
Friday, May 12: Yazd | Taft | Pasargadae | Shiraz
Saturday, May 13: Shiraz | Naqsh-e Rostam | Persepolis | Shiraz
Sunday, May 14: Shiraz | Firuzabad | Shiraz
Monday, May 15: Shiraz | Persepolis | Isfahan
Tuesday, May 16: Isfahan
Wednesday, May 17: Isfahan
Thursday, May 18: Isfahan | Vienna, Austria | Home

View Detailed Itinerary

If you have any additional questions, please email us at (and include your full name) or call us toll-free at (800) 748-6262 (toll: 603-756-2884).

Dig Deeper

Email the AIA
Subscribe to the AIA e-Update

Sign Up!