AIA News

January 25, 2019

2019 AIA Award Winners

The 2019 AIA Award Winners in San Diego

The Archaeological Institute of America is pleased to announce our 2019 Award Winners.

The AIA held its 2019 Awards Ceremony, on the evening of Friday, January 4, at the 120th Annual Meeting in San Diego, California. The ceremony celebrated the accomplishments and contributions of a number of honorees, including:

Gold Medal for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement

Curtis Runnels, Boston University

Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology

Robert Hedges, University of Oxford

Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award

John Hale, University of Louisville

Outstanding Public Service Award

Laurie W. Rush, U.S. Army Fort Drum

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

Jennifer Ramsay, College of Brockport, University of New York

James R. Wiseman Book Award

John M. Marston, Agricultural Sustainability and Environmental Change at Ancient Gordion

Felicia A. Holton Book Award

Timothy Matney, Ziyaret Tepe: Exploring the Anatolian Frontier of the Assyrian Empire (Cornucopia Books, 2017)

Award for Outstanding Work in Digital Archaeology

The Open Digital Archaeology Textbook Environment (ODATE)

Honorable Mention

Field Acquired Information Management Systems (FAIMS)

Graduate Student Paper Award (2018)

Heba Abdelsalam, Middle Tennessee State University, “Approaches for Protecting Cultural Heritage Sites: Mallawi Museum Case Study”

* The 2019 Graduate Student Paper Award Winners, to be honored at the 2020 Annual Meeting are: 

Best Paper (2019)

Cai Thorman, University of California, Davis, “Matrilineal Lineage in Cult for Hellenistic Queens”

Runner Up (2019)

Victoria C. Moses, University of Arizona, “Powerful Pups: Dog Sacrifice in Early Rome, a Case Study from the Area Sacra di Sant’Omobono”

Poster Award Winners included:

Best Poster

Zehavi V. Husser, Biola University, “What’s in a Name?: Examining Jovian Epithets in Italian Roman Inscriptions Using Social Network Analysis”

Runner Up

Nicholas G. Blackwell, Indiana University Bloomington, and Matthew Brennan, Indiana University Bloomington, “Viewing the Lion Gate Relief at Mycenae: A 3D Model and New Compositional Observations”

Best Poster Designed by a Graduate Student

Max Peers, Brown University, “Visibility Graph Analysis of Lararia in the Insula del Menandro, Pompeii: Ideology within the Built Environment”

Best Poster Designed by an Undergraduate Student

Jessica Miller, University on North Carolina at Greensboro, “Minoan Settlement Patterns of the Neopalatial Period”

The AIA bestows a special honor on former Trustees whose contributions to the AIA over the years have been of incalculable value, and that is the title of Trustee Emeritus/Emerita. Only three individuals in the AIA’s history have earned this recognition. Two of the three were able to attend the Awards Ceremony at the AIA Annual Meeting, in person: Trustee Emerita Norma Kershaw and Trustee Emeritus Charles La Follette. Trustee Emeritus Brian Heidtke was not able to come to San Diego, but he sent a greeting by video. The AIA honored the Trustee Emeriti with an Athenian owl plaque, in appreciation for all that they have done and continue to do.


support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.