Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

2017 Undergraduate Teaching winner
Bonna Daix Wescoat

The AIA Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Committee invites nominations for the 2018 award. This prize may be awarded to up to one individual every year and includes a certificate of award. Individuals worthy of this award must have demonstrated excellence in the teaching of archaeology; developed innovative teaching methods or interdisciplinary curricula; a minimum of five years of teaching experience prior to being nominated, currently be engaged in teaching; and have been AIA members in good standing for at least two consecutive years.

Nominations should be made by letter and accompanied by a dossier of supporting materials. They should be made by individuals familiar with the candidate's teaching, such as administrators, departmental chairpersons or colleagues, former students, or faculty in other departments or institutions. Dossiers should include:

1) The nominating letter indicating how the candidate meets the criteria of the award
2) A current curriculum vitae of the nominee;
3) Four letters of recommendation, including at least one each from a student, a colleague, and academic superior;
4) A brief description of all relevant courses taught during the past five years, including some representative syllabi and course materials.

Due Date for Nomination
Completed nominations should be received by Institute Headquarters at the below address no later than September 1, 2017. Electronic submission is preferred.

Send materials to:

Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Atten: Awards
c/o Archaeological Institute of America
44 Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02108
(857) 305-9350
FAX: (617) 353-6550
E-mail: awards@aia.bu.edu


2017 Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award: Bonna Daix Wescoat

Bonna Wescoat is with the Art History Department at Emory University, and holds her degrees from Oxford University (D.Phil., M.Phil.), the Institute of Archaeology, University of London (M.A.), and Smith College (A.B.).  Her research interests are ancient Greek art and architecture, particularly sacred architecture, and digital modeling to investigate the interaction of landscape, architecture, and ritual experience.  Her work centers on the Sanctuary of the Great Gods on Samothrace, where she first worked as a graduate student years ago.    


Past Winners of the Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

2016 Ann Olga Koloski-Ostrow
2015 Nancy T. de Grummond
2014 Steven L. Tuck
2013 Elise A. Friedland
2012 Mary Hollinshead
2011 Susan Stevens
2010 Michael Galaty
2009 Andrea M. Berlin
2008 Jodi Magness
2007 Joan Breton Connelly
2006 Albert Leonard, Jr.
2005 Eric Cline
2004 Michael Cosmopoulos
2003 David W. McCreery
2002 P. Nick Kardulias
2001 Kevin Glowacki
1999 Patrick M. Thomas
1998 Susan E. Alcock
1997 Curtis N. Runnels
1996 Frederick A. Cooper


Return to previous page