AIA News

December 12, 2019

2020 AIA Awards Ceremony To Take Place At The 121st Annual Meeting

The AIA will hold its 2020 Awards Ceremony, on the evening of Saturday, January 4, from 5:00 – 6:15 PM, at the Marriott Marquis Washington, DC. The ceremony will take place during the Institute’s 121st Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. All meeting attendees are invited to join us as we recognize the recipients of the following awards:

Outstanding Public Service Award – Professor Patty Gerstenblith

Award for Outstanding Work in Digital Archaeology – Flowerdew Hundred project (To be accepted by: Dr. Anastasia Dakouri-Hild)

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award – Dr. M. Kathryn Brown

Felicia A. Holton Book AwardDeep Time Dreaming (By: Dr. Billy Griffiths)

James R. Wiseman Book AwardThe Iranian Expanse (By: Professor Matthew P. Canepa)

Conservation and Heritage Management Award – Dr. Katherine Miller Wolf

Graduate Student Paper Award (2019 Annual Meeting – First Prize) – Ms. Cai Thorman

Graduate Student Paper Award (2019 Annual Meeting – Honorable Mention) – Ms. Victoria Moses

Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award – Drs. William and Suzanne Murray

Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology – Professor Heather Lechtman

Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement – Professor Jack Davis

Additional award winners will be announced at the ceremony, so please be sure to join us then.

support Us

The AIA is North America's largest and oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to archaeology. The Institute advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. Your contribution makes a difference.