ArchaeoMadness: Famous Archaeologists Edition

ArchaeoMadness 2019

Back to International Archaeology Day homepage

Augustus Pitt Rivers Crowned 2019 ArchaeoMadness Champion

In ArchaeoMadness 2019, 16 archaeologists entered the tournament in a single elimination bracket.  Each day participants voted for their favorite archaeologist in head-to-head competitions between two individuals.  The winning archaeologist from each matchup moved on to the next round.  This was repeated in each round until the championship.


Rules and Prizes

ArchaeoMadness Results 2019

Image credits: Unless listed below, photos are in the public domain. Gertrude Caton Thompson—National Portrait Gallery, London. KC Chang—Boston University. Kathleen Kenyon—National Portrait Gallery, London.  Tatianna Proskouriakoff—Char Solomon.  Anna Shepard—University of Colorado Museum of Natural History. Gordon Willey—American Anthropological Association.