Outstanding Public Service Award

2014 Public Service winner Corine Wegener

Award Criteria
The Outstanding Public Service Award recognizes exceptional contributions that promote public understanding of, interest in, and support for archaeology and the preservation of the archaeological record.

Individuals, organizations, institutions, or corporations may be nominated to receive the Public Service Award. Individuals need not be members of the AIA. At the discretion of the reviewing subcommittee, the award may or may not be presented annually.

Nominations may be made by any AIA member or AIA committee. They should include a detailed statement of the candidate's contributions meriting recognition in a form suitable for use in a citation.

A subcommittee of the Professional Responsibilities Committee will review nominations and make a recommendation to the full Committee. The PRC will submit its decision for approval by the Governing Board at its May meeting.

Due Date for Nomination
Completed nominations for the 2015 prize should be received by Institute Headquarters at the below address no later than April 1, 2015, for the award to be presented at the following Annual Meeting.

Please send all nomination materials to:

Outstanding Public Service Award
Atten: Awards Department
Archaeological Institute of America
656 Beacon Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02215-2006
Phone: (617) 353-9361
Email: awards@aia.bu.edu


2014 Outstanding Public Service Award: Corine Wegener

Corine Wegener is Cultural Heritage Preservation Officer in the Office of the Under Secretary for History, Art and Culture at the Smithsonian Institution, where she coordinates the Smithsonian's role in the preservation of cultural heritage threatened by natural disasters, human conflict, and other challenges. She earned Master of Arts degrees in both Political Science and Art History from the University of Kansas and a bachelor's degree in Political Science from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.


Past Winners of the Outstanding Public Service Award

2013 David W. Packard
2012 David Gill
2011 Stefano de Caro
2010 Diane Siebrandt
2009 John Noble Wilford
2008 Francis P. McManamon
2007 Wolf-Dieter Heilmeyer
2005 John Russell
2004 He Shuzhong
2003 Lyndel Prott
2002 Nancy Bookidis and Charles K. Williams, II
1998 Walter V. Robinson

Return to previous page