AIA Awards

Awards are distributed at the AIA-SCS Annual Meeting.

Each year, the Archaeological Institute of America presents a number of awards to archaeologists, educators, authors, and others whose work has had a positive impact on the field of archaeology. Each award recognizes excellence on the part of an individual or a group of individuals engaged in the pursuit of human knowledge through archaeology or related disciplines. Winners of these prestigious awards are honored at a special ceremony held every year during the Institute's Annual Meeting.

Congratulations to the 2019 AIA award winners. Each award recipient was presented with an award at the Awards Ceremony in San Diego, CA at the 120th Annual Meeting. Individual winners will be noted below in the award descriptions listed.

Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement

Pomerance Award for Scientific Contributions to Archaeology

Martha and Artemis Joukowsky Distinguished Service Award

James R. Wiseman Book Award

Felicia A. Holton Book Award

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

Conservation and Heritage Management Award

Best Practices in Site Preservation Award 

Outstanding Public Service Award

Outstanding Work in Digital Archaeology Award  

Graduate Student Paper Award

Poster Awards